Week11 Diary of a Diploma Student- Pre-Proof Conferences, IHT and The Big Freeze


Week11
Diary of a Diploma Student- Pre-Proof Conferences, IHT and The Big Freeze

Well, the final week of the first semester arrived .Glasgow ground to a halt with the snow and many students couldn’t make it in to Glasgow University at all. Many were either stranded with no transport or snowed in. I heard of some students walking from Lenzie in the snow storm just to get to Private Client class and hand in their last piece of course work.
.
I was really lucky though as I live a ten minute walked from University so dressed like a ‘bear’ in a fur coat and green Wellington I braved the elements and arrived at the Alexander Stone building for business as usual.

The end of the Civil Litigation classes meant two oral assessments as we were marked on our performance in a pre-proof conference and a motion.
My partner Brian Jackson and I represented the defenders in a personal injury action and we worked together discussing the quantum for the claim and agreed in advance how we would deal with negotiations. It was great practice and I actually really enjoyed it.
Set under exam conditions we all turned up in out suits and met with the other side and presented our negotiations in front of a judge who was marking us on our skills of negotiation. Brain and I were delighted to negotiate our position to within £50 of our pre agreed amount.

After the civil litigation assessments I felt glad that I have chosen Advanced Civil litigation for the second semester as I think it will be a really good course.

In Private client the whole class all 175 worked on our final piece of course work which was completing a IHT400 for inheritance tax and I don’t mind telling you that I am glad that I am not pursuing a career as a Tax lawyer.

In the last criminal class we reviewed procedures at trial and it was a brilliant lecture by Sheriff Vanet.
The skies here in Glasgow are white with snow and each and every student and tutor alike is showing signs of stress and tiredness and we are all excited to be having a break now.

Just the exams to go and they are on the 9th and 14th December 2010.

The first semester of the Diploma in Legal Practice has been a roller coaster of emotions for all involved but I can honestly say that It has been a great experience so far.

Thank you for following my journey through the Diploma

Michelle Hynes-McIlroy
@legaleaglemhm

Week11
Diary of a Diploma Student- Pre-Proof Conferences, IHT and The Big Freeze

Well, the final week of the first semester arrived .Glasgow ground to a halt with the snow and many students couldn’t make it in to Glasgow University at all. Many were either stranded with no transport or snowed in. I heard of some students walking from Lenzie in the snow storm just to get to Private Client class and hand in their last piece of course work.
.
I was really lucky though as I live a ten minute walked from University so dressed like a ‘bear’ in a fur coat and green Wellington I braved the elements and arrived at the Alexander Stone building for business as usual.

The end of the Civil Litigation classes meant two oral assessments as we were marked on our performance in a pre-proof conference and a motion.
My partner Brian Jackson and I represented the defenders in a personal injury action and we worked together discussing the quantum for the claim and agreed in advance how we would deal with negotiations. It was great practice and I actually really enjoyed it.
Set under exam conditions we all turned up in out suits and met with the other side and presented our negotiations in front of a judge who was marking us on our skills of negotiation. Brain and I were delighted to negotiate our position to within £50 of our pre agreed amount.

After the civil litigation assessments I felt glad that I have chosen Advanced Civil litigation for the second semester as I think it will be a really good course.

In Private client the whole class all 175 worked on our final piece of course work which was completing a IHT400 for inheritance tax and I don’t mind telling you that I am glad that I am not pursuing a career as a Tax lawyer.

In the last criminal class we reviewed procedures at trial and it was a brilliant lecture by Sheriff Vanet.
The skies here in Glasgow are white with snow and each and every student and tutor alike is showing signs of stress and tiredness and we are all excited to be having a break now.

Just the exams to go and they are on the 9th and 14th December 2010.

The first semester of the Diploma in Legal Practice has been a roller coaster of emotions for all involved but I can honestly say that It has been a great experience so far.

Thank you for following my journey through the Diploma

Michelle Hynes-McIlroy
@legaleaglemhm

Leave a Reply

