Top 5 tips for Lawyers


Ok So I have been quiet of late. Perhaps busy with so many projects that many of you secretly wondered if I was planning to remain in the legal world at all.

What lots of law students and in fact lawyers do is immerse themselves so deep into their studies and work that the outside world becomes this distant strange place with different landscapes . Is that really what makes a good lawyer? Perhaps it’s is but my opinion differs somewhat.

At Law school your focus is required to grapple with the huge amount of case reports and reading that you become so focussed on law that you don’t notice the 4 years pass and before you know it , it is graduation day and you are standing with your Degree scroll but with no idea what’s been happening in coronation street, in zambia or even in the housing estate just across the road.

Law is about Life.It covers all aspects of life and for me It is important to be in touch with a bit of reality.

So many people stress about not having a summer placement, or traineeship or even a NQ post when in fact , having gained your professional qualification you should, in my opinion welcome the fact that you are not sprung straight into the world of Law. Enjoy the experiences of working in Other areas of life, volunteering, getting back to basis, learning about REAL life and REAL people.

So with this said, I have been setting up a few businesses in the last 8 months and gaining even more experience with Corporate and Commercial law from a clients perspective.

I have placed myself in the position my clients will be , experienced the stresses and strains and the highs and lows from a non legal stand point and I feel enriched by it.

I now feel closer to the bar than I ever have.

My top 5 tips for law students are.

1. Be consciencious , but DON’T isolate yourself in your studies.

2. Volunteer in an area OUTSIDE of law.

3. Welcome the fact that you don’t get a traineeship or placement straight away , it gives you REAL LIFE EXPERIENCE

4. Remember that LAW is for LIFE, your professional qualification is yours whats the rush.

5. A good lawyer is one who serves his client , listens to his clients and most importantly understands his client – chill ! listen , learn and always be humble.

I will be back to practice soon.

Michelle L Hynes LL.B(Hons) DipLP,

CEO, Business Founder and Legal eagle

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 tips for Lawyers

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Like

    • Hi and thanks for leaving a message.
      My top tips for new bloggers are
      1. Don’t get hung up about making sure its perfect .
      2. Its not an academic piece of work
      3. Choose a regular day or time to blog
      4. make notes on your phone when you are out and about that you cam use for inspiration.
      5. Keep your blog posts short (ish) under 1000 words
      6. Once writing your post go back and add links ( remember to link to your facebook,twitter,pinterest)
      7. Have fun – It’s YOUR blog you are the author and editor

      Best wishes and good luck
      Legaleaglemhm

      Like

Leave a Reply

